Eta Beta Chapter earns international recognition as distinguished chapter

Email this article 04/20/2012

ptkawardsThe Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at SWTJC Uvalde was recognized at the April meeting of SWTJC Board of Trustees for various honors it has received this spring at regional and international conventions.

Longtime chapter advisor Barbara Blair, informed the board that the Uvalde chapter had received the prestigious Distinguished Chapter Award at the Phi Theta Kappa International Convention held April 12-14 in Nashville, TN.

Phi Theta Kappa has over 1,200 chapters worldwide and is the only international honor society for two-year colleges. "Only 28 chapters received the distinguished chapter and only three from Texas," Blair said. "I am extremely proud of this year's group and all they have accomplished."

The chapter was also recognized for maintaining five-star chapter status and received two awards for its research project on the economic and environmental impact of the Eagle Ford shale play in Southwest Texas. Chapter co-advisor Rick Jones received the Paragon Award for advisors with fewer than four years of service with Phi Theta Kappa.

Chapter members who attended the international convention were at the board meeting and introduced themselves to the trustees, including: chapter president Ernest Garza, II, Chelsea Garcia, Elvia Valdes, Karina Luna, Illeana Luna and Anisha Hindocha. Trevor Pevehouse and Lizette Gonzalez also attended the convention but were unable to attend Thursday's meeting.

Blair also highlighted the various awards the chapter won at the regional convention held this past March in Odessa. At the regional convention, the chapter was recognized as a five-star chapter and named one of the top 15 chapters in Texas. In addition, the chapter received an honors in action award for its project on the Eagle Ford shale.

Dr. Hector Gonzales, dean of instructional services and the SWTJC president-elect, was named to the regional hall of honor for distinguished advisors.  Dr. Gonzales was inducted as a member of Eta Beta Chapter in 1989 while he was a student at SWTJC. Rick Jones was named to the regional hall of honor for advisors.

Representing the chapter in Odessa were members Yvonne Allen, Chelsea Garcia, Anisha Hindocha, Ileana Luna, Karina Luna, Leilani McClure and James White.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute