Sosa to be honored by Phi Theta Kappa

Email this article 03/06/2013

SWTJC President Ismael Sosa, Jr., Ph.D., will be honored at both the state and national level this spring for his many years of support for Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

According to Barbara Blair, advisor of the Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at SWTJC, Sosa will be inducted into the Hall of Honor for Chief Executive Officers during the 2013 Texas Regional Convention schedlued March 7-10 in Ft. Worth.

"Dr. Sosa has been a strong and faithful supporter of Phi Theta Kappa during his entire career at SWTJC," Blair said. "We are very excited that he and his wife will be able to attend this year's state convention with our group."

Sosa will be recognized at the awards banquet and gala on March 9 in the Trinity Ballroom of the Marriott DFW Airport South.

President Sosa has also been selected as a recipient of the prestigious Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award. Retiring college presidents, campus chief executive officers and state community college directors, nominated by their Phi Theta Kappa chapter, are selected for this award based on outstanding support provided to Phi Theta Kappa over many years.

The award will be presented during the 96th Annual Phi Theta Kappa Convention, April 4-6, at the McEnery Convention Center in San Jose, CA.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute