Creative Arts winners announced during annual awards ceremony

Email this article 04/26/2013

A large crowd of creative artists, teachers, family and friends were on hand April 25 for the awards ceremony in the 32nd Annual SWTJC Creative Arts Contest.

Here are the links for a list of winners in each age group and category:
PreK-K   Grades 1-2   Grades 3-4   Grades 5-6
Grades 7-8   Grades 9-10   Grades 11-12
College   Community   Seasoned

Overall visual arts winners in the various age groups include: PreK-Kindergarten, Kayla White, Uvalde, Sacred Heart; Grades 1-2, Fatima Diaz, Uvalde, Sacred Heart; Grades 3-4, Angel Martinez, Brackettville, Jones Elementary; Grades 5-6, Tripper Wright, Uvalde, Uvalde Classical Academy; and Grades 7-8, Melanie Santana, Crystal City, Sterling H. Fly Junior High.

High school winners in the visual arts division are: Grades 9-10, Destiny Lugo, San Antonio, Stevens High School; and Grades 11-12, James Martinez, Uvalde High School.

Rounding out the overall visual arts winners are: College, Lari Alejandro, Ringling College; Community, Marta Fischer, Uvalde; and Seasoned, Rosemarie Carr, Uvalde.

In the literary division, overall winners include: PreK-Kindergarten, Nathaniel Ybarra, Uvalde, St. Philip's Episcopal School; Grades 1-2, Grace Gilleland, Uvalde, St. Philip's; Grades 3-4, Lizbeth Lira, Brackettville, Jones Elementary; Grades 5-6, Claire Haughey, Uvalde, home school; and Grades 7-8; Hannah Rose Slack, Carrizo Springs, home school.

High school overall literary winners are: Grades 9-10, Summer Gregory, Uvalde, Excel Academy; and Grades 11-12, Jenevah Noah, Utopia, Utopia High School.

Completing the literary winners in the 2013 contest are: College, Thomas Duman, Del Rio, SWTJC; Community, Enrique Roman, Uvalde; and Seasoned, Mary Lou Ward, Camp Wood.

A $20 cash prize was awarded all overall winners. In addition, trophies and medals were awarded to individual winners in various age groups and categories. For a complete list of winners visit the college web site at
SWTJC public information officer Willie Edwards was master of ceremonies for the event. Blaine Bennett, Ph.D., SWTJC vice president of student affairs, gave the invocation. Retiring SWTJC President Ismael Sosa, Jr., Ph.D., officially welcomed students, parents, teachers and guests to the annual awards program.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute