Phi Theta Kappa holds fall induction in Uvalde

Email this article 11/11/2013

ptkinductionThe Eta Beta Chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa inducted 35 new members during ceremonies held Nov. 7 on the SWTJC Uvalde campus. GROUP PHOTO

SWTJC President Dr. Hector Gonzales, a past member of the Eta Beta Chapter, welcomed guests and congratulated this year's inductees.

"This is the best part of my job, getting to recognize our top students," Gonzales said. "These are the leaders on this campus and the leaders of tomorrow."

Noting that the Eta Beta Chapter is consistently one of the top chapters in the state and nation, Gonzales urged the newest group of members to take full advantage of their membership in the only international honor society for two-year colleges.

"Be an active member and get involved in all the various projects and leadership opportunities PTK offers," Gonzales said. "This is a great opportunity to augment your education and career."

Uvalde students inducted include Teresa Aviles, Donna Casey, Kristen Castro, Taylor Dean, Nataly Hernandez, Pedro Navarro, Arianne Penalosa and Shelby Robles.

Nine students from Crystal City were inducted including Cresencio Adame IV, Oscar Balderas, Felix Benavides, Ashley Campos, Emily Cruz, Anita Flores, Christian Guzman, Katherine Perez and Sarah Sanchez.

Carrizo Springs students earning membership were Victoria Chavez, Alexander Doria, Cecilia Garcia and John Slack.

Devine students inducted this fall were Dayleene Alanis, Karina Gonzalez, Alysssa Ornelas, Cynthia Ramirez and Kyle Saathoff.

Sabinal students in the fall 2013 Eta Beta Chapter class were Alisha Contreras and Mario Perez.
Pearsall students earning membership included Johanna Longoria and Robyn Moses.

Others area students inducted this fall include: Crystal Littleton, Knippa; Katrina Martinez, Dilley; Kirsten Murray, Castroville; and Connie Sambrano, La Pryor.

Current Eta Beta Chapter officers Anisha Hindocha, Cassandra Canales, George Melchor, Jr., and Sanette Bermudez conducted the ceremony. Texas regional Phi Theta Kappa president Joanna Anderson from Austin Community College was also on hand to welcome the new members.

Chapter advisors for the Eta Beta Chapter were also in attendance including Barbara Blair, Rick Jones and David Burchfield.

To earn membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 semester hours with at least a 3.5 GPA. Students must also be currently enrolled in at least six hours and maintain a 3.0 GPA to remain members in good standing.

Andrew Humphrey was pianist for the ceremony and a reception for inductees and their families was held immediately following the ceremony.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute