Ceremony to honor GED graduates

Email this article 01/20/2014

A total of 156 students were recognized for completing the Adult Basic Education (ABE) Program at Southwest Texas Junior College, during the 21th Regional GED Commencement Ceremony held Jan. 18 in Uvalde.

SWTJC Associate Dean of Workforce Training and Adult Basic Education Romelia Aranda was master of ceremonies at the event in the Matthews Student Center Ballroom. After welcoming parents, relatives, dignitaries, staff and SWTJC Board Member, Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Aranda introduced Uvalde graduate, Chelsea Lara who delivered the invocation.

Keynote speaker was the Honorable Patricia O’Connell Alvarez, Justice for the Fourth Court of Appeals for the State of Texas.

Alvarez shared her struggles through out her life. She concluded her comments with well wishes and blessings for the graduates.

You are victorious today and you had the courage to do this,” Alavarez told the graduates.

Aranda, SWTJC President, Dr. Hector Gonzales and Vice-President of Instruction, Dr. Mark Underwood presented certificates of completion to all graduates in attendance. Graduates were from SWTJC sites in Hondo, Carrizo Springs, Crystal City, Del Rio, Eagle Pass and Uvalde.

Uvalde graduates include Andrea Amaya, Sabrina Arreola, Gerardo Balbuena, Quintin Bales, John Blessing, Jacob Cardona, Nelson Cartaya, Candida Castillo, Selena Castillo, Savanah Castro, Markos Colin, Justin Galvan, Grace Garcia, Maria Yaneli Garcia, Rigo Gardea, Maria de Lourdes Garfield Martha B. Garza, Matthew George, Norma Gomez de Mata, Rosalee Gonzales, Andrea Gonzalez, Diego Gonzalez, Kassandra Gonzalez, Joshua Gose, Lorena Gutierrez-Sanchez, Danita Horner, Kristina Hughes, Joshua Kemble, Andres Lara, Chelsea Lara, Antonio Lopez, Emigdio Lucio-Murillo, Julie Martinez, Brandon Mendoza, Cassandra Mendoza, Selena Mendoza and Ruby Meza.

Other Uvalde graduates are Veronica Monroy, Dora Moreno, Ngoc Nguyen, Maribel Nieto, Dalton Noska, Angel Olivas, Esmeralda Ortiz, Amanda Perez, Baylea Perez, Cipriano Perez, Yolanda Perez, Domingo Portillo, Anthony Rimoldi, Jose Rivera, Joel Rodriguez, Rodrigo Rodriguez, Samantha Rubio, Joe Saiz, April Sanchez, Juan Sanchez, Jr., Mary Jane Sandoval, Sherri Sollers, Marie Southerland, Abel Talamantes, Desirae Thompson, Angelica Torres, Maria Vega, Chelsey West and Pilar Ybarra.

Carrizo Springs graduates include Destiny De Leon, Alexis Gomez, Bryan Guerra, Dylan Hernandez, Tracy Montez, Jaime Rocha, Roxy Rocha and Emily Saucedo.

Crystal City graduates include Arnold Almeida, Crystal Alvarez, Jennifer Blanco, Omar Cortinas, Sara Culpepper, Jonathan Gall, Humberto Hernandez III, Kassandra Hinojosa, Alicia Ibarra, Angiestella Leyva, Brandi Montney, Israel Olivarez, Isela Samaniego, Crystal L. Sanchez, Christopher Saucedo, Anacleto R. Trevino and Mayela Valadez.

Del Rio graduates include Catherin Barba, Laura Barboza, Sandra Calderon, Ernesto Carrizales, Jaqueline Cedillo, Melissa Delgado, Eden Galvan, Cristina Garcia, Stephanie Garcia, Isaias Gomez, Estela Hernandez, John Hernandez, Maria Hernandez, Rebecca Hernandez, Yadira Hernandez, Belen Ibarra, Roxanne Jimenez, Teresa Joiner, Juan Kiniskey, Ana Longoria, Maria Martinez, Priscilla Olivo, Adriana Ortiz, Maria Ortiz, John Chance Perry, Edith Ramirez, Juan Ramirez, Liliana Reyes, April Reyna, Frank Rodriguez, Luz Carmen Rodriguez, Humberto Rubio, Agapito Salinas and Melissa Villarreal.

Eagle Pass graduates include Lorraine Carrazco, Alexis Castillo, Amber Coughlin, Ana Fernamdez, Stephany Gonzalez, Felipe Jimenez, Elaine Martinez, Lesley Olivares, Sonia Orta, Guillermo Rivera, Manuel Solis, Jacqueline Soliz and Megan William.

Hondo graduates include Bailey Black, James Michael Davis, Emily Garcia, Jamie Gaucin, Kimberly Guerrero, Maria Guzman, Vanessa Medrano, Adrian Nira, Linda Ohlhausen, Priscilla Patino, Melissa Perez, Melissa Perez, Dylan Renpenning, Luisa Rivera, Christavale Rodriguez, Shelley Rodriguez, Samuel Sanchez and Kiara Thomas.

The ceremony concluded with the benediction given by Crystal City graduate, Alicia Ibarra. Following the ceremony, a reception was held in the Matthews Student Center for graduates, their families and guests.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute