PTK honors spring inductees at SWTJC Uvalde

Email this article 03/07/2014

PTK Group ShotGROUP PHOTO ID: New inductees into the Eta Beta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at SWTJC Uvalde include: (front, l-r) Ariel E. Reyes, Briana M. Lancerio, Romanita Urrabazo, Lea Nell Dungo, Ricardo V. Garcia Jr. and Jaime R. Trueba (middle) Barbara Blair, Daniela J. Gomez, Marisa A. Salazar, Lorena M. Montes, Gabriela B. Gonzalez, Kendall L. Walker, Amanda R. Navarro, Emily G. Moreno and Rachel M. Cottle (back) Aurelio Hernandez, Colton S. Parker, Roel M. Mata, Elijah R. Evans, Jason M. Arias and Martha A. Soliz.

The Eta Beta Chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa inducted 25 new members this spring at Southwest Texas Junior College during ceremonies March 6 in Uvalde.

New members inducted include Jason M. Arias, Zachary S. Bordovsky, Rachel M. Cottle, Lea Nell Dungo, Elijah R. Evans, Ricardo V. Garcia Jr., Tatyana K. Garcia, Daniela J. Gomez, Gabriela B. Gonzalez, Aurelio Hernandez, Veronica Hernandez, Briana M. Lancerio and Roel M. Mata.

Also inducted were, Lorena M. Montes, Emily G. Moreno, Amanda R. Navarro, Colton S. Parker, Ariel E. Reyes, Marisa A. Salazar, Salma Sierra, Martha A. Soliz, Jaime R. Trueba, Romanita Urrabazo, Kendall L. Walker and Jacquelyn S. Yandell.

SWTJC President Hector Gonzales, Ph.D., welcomed guests to the spring induction ceremony. Gonzales gave special recognition to Phi Theta Kappa advisor, Barbara Blair on her recent lifetime achievement award at the annual Texas Regional Phi Theta Kappa Convention.

Current Eta Beta Chapter members participating in the ceremony were Anisha Hindocha, Cassandra Canales, George Melchor, Jr., Sandra Martinez and Pedro Navarro.

To earn membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 semester hours with at least a 3.5 GPA. Students must also be currently enrolled in at least six hours and maintain a 3.0 GPA to remain members in good standing.

A reception for inductees and their families was held in the Matthews Student Center immediately following the ceremony.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute