Board members sworn in and elect officers

Email this article 05/19/2014

Board members sworn inThe May 15, 2014 Southwest Texas Junior College Board of Trustees meeting was held in the Uvalde campus Bluebonnet Room.

Rodofo Flores (Board President) and Tony Moreno were sworn back in following an uncontested election cycle. Board members voted for the current organizational structure of the SWTJC Board of Trustees to remain standing for the next cycle: Rodolfo Flores remains President, Dr. Harry Watkins remains Vice President, and Dr. Antonio Rivera remains Secretary.

Dr. Hector Gonzales, SWTJC President, was presented with a service pin for 15 years at Southwest Texas Junior College. President Flores presented the pin to President Gonzales “in recognition of many years of service.”

Architect Tom Farrell presented an update on the Del Rio campus, which is complete and fully furnished. An open house will be held near the start of the Fall 2014 semester. The Del Rio project was completed, Mr. Farrell said, “under budget, on time, and with no change orders.”


A report by the head instructor of Automotive Technology, Mr. Carlos Ramos, included a description of courses offered, number of enrolled students, and employment prospects for outgoing students. Both Mr. Ramos and Mr. Raul Cano (another program instructor) were enthusiastic about the program’s growth in area high schools as a dual credit offering.

Ms. Barbara Blair presented the Phi Theta Kappa Eta Beta chapter (Uvalde), highlighting the many accomplishments and awards earned by the Eta Beta chapter over the previous academic year. Phi Theta Kappa National recognized the SWTJC Uvalde Eta Beta chapter as a 5-Star Chapter during the regional PTK meeting. The Eta Beta chapter also received a Merit Award and a Continued Excellence Award (for recognition three years in a row). The chapter also received national recognition during the PTK international conference in April. New advisors were recognized.

Three Phi Theta Chapter Eta Beta students briefly presented regarding their experiences in PTK and at SWTJC. George Melchor, outgoing PTK president, plans to transfer to Rice University with tuition completely paid for – he attributes his success to PTK and the opportunities available as an SWTJC student. Pedro Navarro, the PTK officer responsible for communication and public relations, noted his increased in campus engagement as a result of his involvement in PTK. Elijah Evans, incoming PTK president, expressed excitement about PTK’s role at SWTJC.

President Gonzales presented George Melchor with an official nomination as a candidate for the Phi Theta Kappa All USA Community College Academic Team. If Melchor is selected as a team member he will receive a $2,500 scholarship and national recognition in USA Today.

President Gonzales opened his President’s Report with a reiteration of the Del Rio project completion. Eagle Pass and Crystal City campuses are currently being surveyed for facilities improvements and updates. Additionally, the Kickapoo Native American Tribe, located in Eagle Pass, is planning to build educational facilities on their land and may include SWTJC as an educational partner. Dr. Gonzales thanked all those who attended the Dean’s Breakfast and the SWTJC Graduation ceremonies, indicating that 329 students walked at graduation.

Other business included a preliminary draft of library plans for Crystal City, and adoption of updates to the SWTJC Student Handbook.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute