Top faculty honored during annual SWTJC Deanís Breakfast

Email this article 05/20/2014

Outstanding facultyRichard Flores, and Diane Underwood were singled out as the top faculty members for the 2013-14 school year during the annual SWTJC Dean’s Breakfast held May 9 in Uvalde.

Underwood received the Outstanding Faculty Member Award presented annually by the SWTJC administration. She is a computer science instructor on the Eagle Pass campus. SWTJC Dean of the College of Liberal Arts Cheryl L. Sanchez, Ph.D., presented the award. PHOTOS

Flores was the recipient of the SWTJC Faculty Association Teaching Excellence Award. Flores is a Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology instructor on the Uvalde campus. Christine Foley and Diane Underwood, recipients of the 2012-13 faculty association award, presented the plaque.

Delia Esquivel of Eagle Pass and Linda Juarez of Del Rio were the recipients of the Outstanding Professional Staff Member award while Wade Carpenter of Uvalde was awarded the Outstanding Support Staff Member Award.

SWTJC employees who are retiring this year were also recognized including Reynaldo C. Benavidez, 32 years; William G. Edwards, 14 years; Elia F. Zamarripa, 26 years;  Betty McCullough, 27 years; Beatrice M. Garcia, 37 years; Maria M. Servantes, 22 years; Sharon Wilson, 22 years; Harry D. Lawrence, Jr, 53 years; Richard B. Whipple, 23 years; Barbara A. Blair, 44 years; and Dr. William B. Bennett, 23 years.

Various SWTJC faculty and staff received service pins from their respective vice presidents during the annual event.

Pete Winn, Ph.D., was awarded a 45-year service pin and Robert Koenig received a 30-year service pin, while Richard Flores and Mitchel Burchfield, Ph.D., were recognized for 25 years of service.

Receiving 20-year pins were Doug Braudaway, Jesus Garcia, Alex Coronado and Luana Rodriguez.

Receiving 15-year pins were SWTJC President Hector Gonzales, Ph.D., Associate Vice President of the Eagle Pass campus Gilbert Bermea, Mark Underwood, Ph.D., Pat Kier, Paul Kimble, Terrie Wilson, Charles Garabedian, Francisco Gonzales, Apolonio Ledezma, Fernando Lombrana, Maria Rangel and  Juanita (Nita) Reed.

Honored for 10 years of service were Aide Escamilla, Christine Foley, Amy Garcia, Erica Lara, Ann McKinney, Joe Perez, Hector Rivera, Dr. Cheryl Sanchez, Carolina Serna, Claudio Valenzuela, Robert Zaiglin, Juan Aviles, Noel Tarango, Norma Anderson, Blanca Chavarria, Norma Alicia Diaz, Mayta Garza, Angelica Gaucin, Juanita Aracely Gonzalez, Alejandro Gomez, Silvia Gomez, Andrew Humphrey, Janie Lopez, Aracely Perez, Alfonso Santos, Harold Sills and James Joseph Zapata.

The list of 5-year service pin recipients includes Steven Evans, David Burchfield, Bonny Herndon, April Ruhmann, Isabel Alvarez, Stephanie Cerna, Angelica De Hoyos, Sylvia Fernandez and Maria L. Ibarra.

Others receiving pins for five years of service were Aleyda Moran, Edwin Nava, Herlinda Pena, Rosa Rodriguez, Michelle Torres, Angelica Uriegas, Claudia Valdez, David Walker, Jacob H. Zamarripa and Clarisa Zepeda.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute