Top faculty and staff honored at annual Dean’s Breakfast

Top faculty and staff honored at annual Dean’s Breakfast

Dennie Ray Johnson and Bonnie Clinebell-Esquivel were honored as top faculty members for the 2017-2018 school year during the annual SWTJC Dean's Breakfast held May 11 in Uvalde.

Clinebell-Esquivel received the SWTJC Faculty Association Teaching Excellence Award. She is a coordinator of radiologic technology and assistant professor on the Uvalde campus. Physical education instructor Landra Fowler made the presentation to Clinebell-Esquivel. PHOTOS

Johnson received the Outstanding Faculty Member Award presented annually by the SWTJC administration. He is an English instructor in Eagle Pass. Dr. Mark Underwood vice president of academic affairs presented the award.

Cynthia Martinez and Raul Lozano were awarded the Outstanding Professional Staff Member Award.

Martinez is a financial aid senior advisor, and Lozano is the distance learning site supervisor at the Eagle Pass campus.

Vanessa Verjan, college of applied sciences and liberal arts administrative assistant, was the recipient of the Outstanding Support Staff Member Award.

Four SWTJC employees who are retiring this year were also recognized including Carlos Cazares, 35 years of service; Dr. Mitchel Burchfield, 29 years of service; Romelia Aranda, 23 years of service and Ann McKinney, 14 years of service.

Various SWTJC faculty and staff received service pins from their respective vice presidents and directors during the annual event.

Carlos Diaz received a 30-year service pin, while Marcelino Alderete, Santos Alvarez, Nancy Doucet, Irma Garcia and Luiz Ruiz received 20-year pins.

SWTJC trustees Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Dr. Harry O. Watkins and college president Dr. Hector Gonzales received 20-year pins on Thursday (May 17) during the monthly board of trustees meeting.

During the meeting board president, Rodolfo Flores presented a posthumous 15-year service pin to Albert Alonzo who passed away in February. The service pin was accepted by Alonzo’s brother Vidal Alonzo.

Albert worked in the Student Success Department and was the TRIO lead advisor at the time of his passing.

Others honored for 15 years of service were Michele Reynolds, Abel Ortiz, Cheryl Hammer and Jimmy Calliham.

The list of 10-year service pin recipients includes Robert Ayala, Bonnie Clinebell Esquivel, Patricia Garcia, Aubrey Haynes, J.J. Suarez, Kathryn Santos, Sylvia Fernandez, Brenda Hoffman, Cynthia Martinez, Brenda Cantu, Patrica Perez, Rosa Rodriguez, David Walker, Juan P. Ybarra, Teresa Zamarripa and Vanessa Verjan.

Receiving their 5-year service pins were Karen Quiroz, Denise Vanderlick, Lori Compton, Muraya Gonzalez, Brandy Leon, Marlaina Mahler, Gabriella Rosales, Phillip Botello, Oscar Flores, Jr., Javier Garza, Kristel Sanchez, Milton Lozano, Raul Lozano, Alejandro Resma, Jeanette Saucedo and Noemi Cordova.