Uvalde campus announces Who’s Who and Leadership recipients

Uvalde campus announces Who’s Who and Leadership recipients

A total of 15 students were honored by the faculty and staff with Who’s Who recognition, during an awards ceremony during the spring semester in Uvalde.

Honorees include Josue M. Alderete, Liyah Alvarado, Alexandria M. Barnwell, Ciera M. Baucom, Desiree Charles, Faith L. Nieto, Krysandra C. Rodriguez, Kristen M. Rodriguez, Cheyenne T. Ruiz, Ashley J. Segura, Ruby R. Soto, Raul Talamantes, Desiree L. Vasquez, Alexis M. Vera and Micah E. Vernor.

Who’s Who honorees are selected by faculty and administrators based on leadership, scholarship, and character. Students must be in good standing and enrolled in an average of 14 semester hours in two semesters or at least 14 semester hours if attending only one semester.

Leadership award winners also recognized at the ceremony. Sponsors of various college clubs and organizations choose recipients of “L” awards, which is a symbol of leadership and excellence and is awarded to club students who have made outstanding contributions through student organizations at Southwest Texas Junior College.

Winners include David Cobos and Samuel Groff, Student Activities Board; Crystal Porras and Paulina Billings, Rad Tech Club; Faith Nieto and Reilly Mejia, Baseline Bums, and SWTJC Student Nurses Association Club awarded their Leadership Award to Alondra Diaz.

Other Leadership Awards went to Joshua Alvarado and Juan E. Trevino, Catholic Club; Elisabeth Davidson and Leonela Villegas, STEM Club; Luis Melendez and Andre Cruz, PSl-ke Club; Tania Ruiz and Jazmyne Villarreal, Cosmetology; Ashley Rubio and Samantha Mendoza, Kinesiology Club; Diego Marines and Karina Rojas, Student Ambassadors; Reyna Rangel and Ashley Segura, Women's Basketball; Dekelvin Garrett and Domingo Davila, Men's Basketball; Justin Perez and Riley Rawal, Phi Theta Kappa; Matthew Ortiz and Christopher Davalos, Cross Country.