Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members in fall ceremony

Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members in fall ceremony

Friends, family and college officials gathered at the Sul State University/Rio Grande College Auditorium for the annual fall induction ceremonies of the Alpha Omega Iota chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

A total of 49 students were initiated into the international honor society for two-year colleges.

New inductees include Dora Alarcon, Lauren Alvarado, Jesus Arreola, Blanca Campa, Dayana Casillas, Jailyne Casillas, Carolyn Cervantez, Jaclyn Dominguez, Jasmine Duran, Clarissa Espinoza, Ruben Flores, Hector Garcia, Jacob Garcia , Hector Gomez, Jacinda Gonzalez, Karina Guajardo, Andrea Hernandez, Sabrina Hernandez, Andres Ibarra, Lilliana Jimenez, Jesus Llanas, Nelia Longoria, Alondra Luna, Hannah Martinez, Silvana Mejia and Amanda Meza.

Other students inducted are Celeste Montes, Amy Morin, Giselle Moyeda, Adriana Palacios, Alexis Palafox, Anahi Payne, Erik Pineda, Osiel Ponce, Jocelyn Ramirez, Diana Ramirez Antonio Rodriguez, April Rogel, Desiree Rosales, Gloria Rubio, Lizeth Ruiz, Vanessa Ruiz, Sydney Salas, Sarah Salazar, Aneesa Segura, Christopher Solis, Karen Soto Castro, Nickolas Torres, Alyssa Trevino, Gabriella Vasquez and Stephanie Zapata.

PTK Alpha Omega Iota Chapter advisor at SWTJC Del Rio, Nancy Masterson said “Induction is without a doubt my favorite Phi Theta Kappa event. It is an opportunity to recognize both the new members for their outstanding academic ability and their family and friends who have helped contribute to their success.”

The ceremony was conducted by chapter president Sergio I. Hernandez, chapter vice president Edward Hildreth and chapter alumni Marta Jimenez.

To earn membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 semester hours with at least a 3.5 GPA. Students must also be currently enrolled in at least six hours.