Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members in spring ceremony

Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members in spring ceremony

Friends, family and college officials gathered in Southwest Texas Junior College for annual spring induction ceremonies of the Alpha Omega Iota chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

A total of 17 students were initiated into the international honor society for two-year colleges.

New inductees include Valeria Perea, Margil Piña Jr, Cristian Salas, Nyssa Rodriguez, Martha Gonzalez, Karina Guajardo, Martha Jimenez, Cassandra Payen, Michelle Ansick, Karissa Cervantes, Brandon Fernandez, Nayeli Garcia, Vanessa Berreles, Nancy Castillo, Jorge Garcia, Thomas Ochello and Joshua Torres

PTK Alpha Omega Iota Chapter advisor at SWTJC Del Rio, Nancy Masterson said “Induction is without a doubt my favorite Phi Theta Kappa event. It is an opportunity to recognize both the new members for their outstanding academic ability and their family and friends who have helped contribute to their success.”

The ceremony was conducted by chapter officers Naomi Martinez, Ian De La Pierdra, Karla Nuñez, Danielle Arias and chapter members Carlo Venezuela and Kendra Gonzalez.

To earn membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 semester hours with at least a 3.5 GPA. Students must also be currently enrolled in at least six hours.