Phi Theta Kappa inducts 53 members during ceremony at SWTJC Uvalde

Phi Theta Kappa inducts 53 members during ceremony at SWTJC Uvalde

A total of 53 new members were inducted into the Eta Beta Chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa during ceremonies held Oct. 8 in Uvalde.

New members include Ofelia Aguirre, Giselle Garcia, Ariana Perez, Austin Alfaro, Omar Garcia, Joaquin Perez, Chloe Avila, Garrison Garza, Cynthia Reyes, Luis Balderas, Olivia Garza, Mia Reyes, Brianna Barclay, Brianna Gonzales, Monika Rios, Davynn Benavides, Lizette Gonzales, John Rowland, Valerie Benavides, Allyna Gonzalez, Bianca Ruiz, Brianna Campos, and Christopher Hernandez.

Other new members also inducted were Natalia Saenz, Dietrich Campos, Hayli Karnes, Jasmine Salas, Anissa Castillo, Kylie Lawler, Jackeline Sanchez, Mariel Contreras, Rodolfo Lopez, Kaitlin Sanchez, Amaya Cosper, Emma Maldonado, Adam Tapia, Ysenia Diaz, Gisselle Martinez, Joerden Trevino, Ellenore Dorris, Jonah Martinez, Jose Valerio, Amaris Falcon, Gabriela McNelly, Amy Welch, Austin Fuentes, Kimberly Meza, Abigail Zinsmeyer, Abagail Garcia and Shelby Penney.

Dr. Hector Gonzales, SWTJC President opened the ceremony with a welcome message to the new members.

Eta Beta Chapter member Riley Rawald introduced Gonzales and served as master of ceremonies for the evening.

The other chapter officers participating in the induction were Alana Rubio and Michael Aguirre-Robinson.

Also recognized during the event were chapter advisors Randa Schell and Ryan Aldrit, along with other faculty and staff in attendance.

A reception held in the Matthews Student Center followed the induction ceremony.