Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members in Spring Ceremony

Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members in Spring Ceremony

Uvalde, TX, March 21, 2024 - The Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 64 new members on March 6 in Uvalde. The event was a significant milestone for the new inductees, who were warmly welcomed into this esteemed society.

The new inductees present were Kate Jimenez, Christie Horton, Izabella Proctor, Lilly Pannell, Mia Aguilar, Kyrsten Hernandez, Katelyn Balderas, Charlie Ferland Hardwick, Tessa Vasquez, Alexcia Ta, Ofilia Munoz, Anna Weimer, Karyme Rodriguez, Yesenia Salinas, Jaclyn Gonzales, Addison Day, Jozlin Rodriguez, Savannah Cable, Miranda Benetti, Xavier Sanchez, Jonnathan Cazares, Elianna Hernandez, Alexandria Cerda, Lila Avila, Darya Naumenko, Leviticus Esquibel, Thomas Jaks, David Hernandez, Dominic Bray, and Lourdes Lara.

New inductees not in attendance were Amerie Garcia, Angela Gonzales, Brianna Rizo, Cameron Carmona, Christian Cardenas, Diamond Morquecho, Dulce Solis, Elaina Esquivel, Faye Fernandez, Francisco Lopez, Genesis Hernandez Chapa, Isabella Flores, James Miller, James Pearson, Jaylinn Trevino, Jonathan Osio, Kaylee Rodriguez, Kinsley Cox, Liane Martinez, Liliana Gonzales, Madelyne Proctor, Maricruz Casillas, Micaella Faith Catle, Raegan Furnace, Ransom Harthcock, Shaelyn Velasquez, Sophia Garcia, Tanith Chappie, Travis Bartniski, Tristan Navarro, Victor Ortiz, Victoria De Luna, and Viviana Ovalle.

SWTJC President Dr. Hector Gonzales extended a warm welcome to the large crowd in attendance, where he encouraged the new members to actively engage in the organization, emphasizing the significance of their induction into this prestigious society.

"This is a great organization that you're joining; you will get what you put into it," said Dr. Gonzales. "I encourage you to be a member but also be active in the organization. Be proud that you are selected and admitted into this awesome organization with a legacy of excellence."

The induction ceremony was conducted by the current Eta Beta Chapter officers, namely Alma Garza, Milagros Garza, Michelle Villarreal, Yulissa Fuentes, Jocelyn Garcia and Solomon Polanco. Their dedication and commitment to upholding the values of Phi Theta Kappa were evident throughout the ceremony.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a prestigious achievement and a testament to the academic excellence of the inductees. To qualify for membership, students must have completed at least 12 semester hours with a minimum 3.5 GPA. Furthermore, they must remain enrolled in at least six hours and maintain a 3.0 GPA to uphold their membership in good standing.

The induction ceremony marked the beginning of an exciting journey for the new members, who are now part of a society renowned for its commitment to scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

As the Eta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa continues to flourish, the induction of new members serves as a testament to the enduring legacy of academic excellence at SWTJC. The future looks bright for these new inductees as they embark on this remarkable journey with Phi Theta Kappa.